Convention of Alessandria, 15 June 1800

The Convention of Alessandria ended Napoleon’s Italian campaign of 1800. The convention was negotiated on the day after the battle of Marengo (14 June), and was signed on the same day. The convention saw north western Italy transferred from Austrian to French control.

The convention contained six main provisions.

1: A suspension of hostilities until the treaty could be ratified at Vienna

2: The Austrians were to occupy a line extending from Peschiera on the Mincio River to the mouth of the Po and would retain their garrisons in Tuscany and in Ancona.

3: The French would hold the area west of the Chiese River while the area between the Chiese and Mincio rivers would remain neutral.

4: The Austrians would evacuate all of the fortresses they occupied in the areas they were surrendering. Tortona, Alessandria, Milan, Arona and Piacenza would be surrendered between 16 and 20 June, and Ceva, Savona, Coni and Genoa to follow between 16 and 24 June.

5: The Austrian army would retire to the Mincio river in three columns, via Piacenza

6: The artillery in the fortresses being evacuated would be split between the two powers. Austria would retain all of its own artillery while France would gain all the artillery that had belonged to Sardinia. Stores were to be divided equally between the two powers.

The convention did not end the fighting. Austria had already agreed made an agreement with Britain not to make a peace before 1 February 1801. Fighting soon broke out again in Italy and in Germany, ending in another French victory and the Peace of Lunéville.

Napoleonic Home Page | Books on the Napoleonic Wars | Subject Index: Napoleonic Wars

How to cite this article: Rickard, J (pending), Convention of Alessandria, 15 June 1800 ,

Help - F.A.Q. - Contact Us - Search - Recent - About Us - Privacy