One Step Further Vol. 7, Marion Hebblethwaite

One Step Further Vol. 7, Marion Hebblethwaite

Vol. 7: Book N to R

This book is volume seven in a series devoted to telling the stories of the winners of the George Cross, and covers recipients of the award with surnames beginning with N to R. The alphabetical theme is one of the great strengths of this series, producing a fascinating range of stories, including amongst them a member of the Shackleton expedition.

The most recent recipient covered in this book is Peter Norton, who won his George Cross in Iraq, while the earliest recipient is the Reverend John O'Shea, who won the Empire Gallantry Medal, later converted to the George Medal, for his efforts to save the crew of a merchant ship flounders off the Irish coast in 1911.

This book is brilliantly illustrated, with hundreds of photographs. In many cases there are illuminating interviews with the family of the medal winner, witness statements and extracts from the original awards.

Each book in this series has an introduction on a different topic related to the George Cross. In this book the introduction looks at the lack of civilian George Crosses awarded over the last forty years, and suggests a possible reason for that lack.

We thoroughly recommend this book. It can be purchased directly from the George Cross Database website

Author: Marion Hebblethwaite
Edition: Paperback
Pages: 160
Publisher: Chameleon HH Publishing
Website: George Cross Database
Year: 2007

Help - F.A.Q. - Contact Us - Search - Recent - About Us -  Subscribe in a reader - Join our Google Group - Cookies