USAAC/ USAAF/ USAF Training Aircraft Designation

The 1924 designation system included the PT Primary Trainer and AT Advanced Trainer types. The BT Basic Trainer class was introduced in 1930 and the three types of trainers existed alongside each other until 1948. In that year the three classes were merged into the T for Trainer type, with a numerical sequence that carried on from the PT-27. The T-28 was thus the first new aircraft in the T series, although several existing aircraft were given lower T numbers as they were still in use.

PT - Primary Trainer

Consolidated PT-1 Trusty
Consolidated PT-2 Trusty
Consolidated PT-3 Trusty
Consolidated PT-4 Trusty
Consolidated PT-5 Trusty
Consolidated PT-6
Mohawk PT-7 Pinto
Consolidated PT-8
Stearman PT-9
Verville PT-10
Consolidated PT-11
Consolidated PT-12
Boeing-Stearman PT-13
Waco PT-14
St Louis PT-15
Ryan PT-16
Boeing-Stearman PT-17 Kaydet
Boeing-Stearman PT-18
Fairchild PT-19 Cornell
Ryan PT-20
Ryan PT-21 Recruit
Ryan PT-22 Recruit
Fairchild PT-23 Cornell
de Havilland PT-24 Tiger Moth
Ryan PT-25
Fairchild PT-26 Cornell
Boeing-Stearman PT-27

AT - Advanced Trainer

Huff-Daland AT-1
Huff-Daland AT-2
Boeing AT-3
Curtiss AT-4 Hawk
Curtiss AT-5 Hawk
North American AT-6 Texan
Beechcraft AT-7 Navigator
Cessna AT-8 Bobcat
Curtiss-Wright AT-9 Jeep
Beechcraft AT-10 Wichita
Beechcraft AT-11 Kansan (later T-11)
Republic AT-12 Guardsman
Fairchild AT-13 Gunner
Fairchild AT-14 Gunner
Boeing AT-15 Crewmaker
Noorduyn AT-16
Cessna AT-17 Bobcat
Lockheed AT-18 Hudson
Stinson AT-19 Reliant
Avro/ Federal AT-20 Anson
Fairchild AT-21 Gunner
Consolidated AT-22 (B-24 Liberator trainer)
Martin AT-23 (B-26 Marauder trainer)
North American AT-24 Mitchell

BT - Basic Trainer

Douglas BT-1
Douglas BT-2
Stearman BT-3
Curtiss BT-4
Stearman BT-5
Consolidated BT-6
Consolidated BT-7
Seversky BT-8
North American BT-9
North American BT-10
Aircraft Research BT-11
Fleetwings BT-12
Vultee BT-13 Valiant
North American BT-14
Vultee BT-15 Valiant
Vultee BT-16 Valiant
Boeing-Stearman BT-17

T - Trainer

North American T-6 Texan
Beechcraft T-7 Navigator
Beechcraft T-11 Kansan
North American T-28 Trojan
Convair T-29 Flying Classroom
Douglas T-30
Fairchild T-31
Convair T-32
Lockheed T-33 (F-80 trainer)
Beech T-34 Mentor and T-34C Turbo Mentor
Temco T-35 Buckaroo
Cessna T-37
Northrop T-38 Talon
Rockwell T-39 Sabreliner
Lockheed T-40 Jet Star
Cessna T-41 Mescalero (Model 172)
Beechcraft T-42 Cochise
Boeing T-43
Beechcraft T-44 Pegasus
McDonnell Douglas T-45 Goshawk
Fairchild T-46
Cessna T-47
Cessna T-48
Boeing T-49
Korean Aerospace Industries T-50 Golden Eagle
Cessna T-51
Diamond Aircraft T-52
Cirrus T-53

T - Trainer 1962

Lockheed T-1 SeaStar (T2V)
North American/ Rockwell T-2 Buckeye (T2J)

T - Trainer 1990

Raytheon Hawker Beechcraft T-1 Jayhawk
T-2 skipped as Buckeye still in use
Slingsby T-3 Firefly
T-4 skipped
T-5 skipped
Hawker Beechcraft T-6 Texan II

Air War Index - Air War Links - Air War Books

How to cite this article: Rickard, J (29 November 2012), USAAC/ USAAF/ USAF Training Aircraft Designation ,

Help - F.A.Q. - Contact Us - Search - Recent - About Us - Privacy