Hawker Sea Hawk F.G.A. Mark 4

The Hawker Sea Hawk F.G.A. Mark 4 (Fighter, Ground Attack), was designed to be the definitive ground support version of the aircraft, carrying external stores on four pylons under the wings, but was soon replaced by the F.G.A.6 with its more powerful engine.

The Sea Hawk F.B.3 had been able to carry two 500lb bombs or mines or 90 gallon drop tanks on two pylons under the wings. Tests had been carried out with a four pylon system that allowed it to carry a combination of up to four bombs, mines or drop tanks, but delays caused by the Korean War meant that this system was never approved for use on the Mk.3 and was only introduced with the flight of the first F.G.A. Mark 4 on 26 August 1954. Ninety seven F.G.A.4s were delivered between August 1954 and March 1955.

The F.G.A.Mk.4 entered service during 1954, and was used by Nos.801, 802, 804, 806, 807 and 811 Squadrons. It remained in service for a year, before being replaced by the up-engined F.G.A. Mark 6.

Engine: Rolls Royce Nene R.N.4 (Mk.101)
Power: 5,000lb thrust
Crew: 1
Wing span: 39ft 0in
Armament: Four fixed forward-firing 20mm cannon
Bomb-load: Four 500lb bombs or four 90 gallon drop tanks or twenty 3in or 5in rockets

Air War Index - Air War Links - Air War Books

How to cite this article: Rickard, J (6 June 2010), Hawker Sea Hawk F.G.A. Mark 4 , http://www.historyofwar.org/articles/weapons_hawker_sea_hawk_4.html

Help - F.A.Q. - Contact Us - Search - Recent - About Us - Privacy