Treaty of Aix-la-Chapelle, 2 May 1668

Treaty that ended the War of Devolution between France and Spain over control of the Spanish Netherlands. Under pressure from the Triple Alliance (England, Sweden and the United Provinces (Holland)), the French agreed to return Franche-Comte to the Spanish, along with most of Flanders and Hainault, although they gained a series of fortified towns on the borders of the Spanish Netherlands, along with some strongholds within Flanders itself.
How to cite this article: Rickard, J. (19 November 2000), Treaty of Aix-la-Chapelle, 2 May 1668,

Help - F.A.Q. - Contact Us - Search - Recent - About Us - Privacy